WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 12


Caribbean Storm Cloud, digital photograph, 2009.

Caribbean Storm Cloud, digital photograph, 2009.

“Caribbean Storm Cloud”

What:  Unless you have never seen a cloud or a sea (if that describes you, you need a hug), I do not have to express what this is a photograph of, but if you want to know exactly what TYPE of cloud this is, thanks to Google I know: cumulus clouds! And the expanse of water that you see is the Caribbean Sea as the title of the photo conveys. That is a LOT of water, so for any seasick-prone people who also may not like even LOOKING at water-y photos…please do not throw up on your keyboard and take steady, deep breaths!

Why: As a photographer, you see an opportunity and you TAKE IT, otherwise; that moment could disappear if you just sit and think about it or if you do not realize it is a great visual opportunity at all! A storm was developing and I took notice. This group of sunlit clouds, heavy with water and hovering over the deep, inky blue sea, was a shot I could NOT miss! I ran to get my camera, selected the settings quickly and snapped away. I snapped two photos and this one was the best out of the both of them!

When: This was taken November 5th, 2009. I and a group of friends were traveling on Princess Cruises’ Ruby Princess liner (this was my first cruise; I’ve been on two). Having left from Princess Cays (an island that Princess Cruises owns), we were on the way to St. Thomas (one of many islands we visited on this 10-day cruise…and yes, being a girl, I DID pack a LOT in a HUGE suitcase & one or two smaller bags). One of my friends also shot this storm cloud with their camera. Our photos are noticeably different in what we captured of the cloud, but theirs came out very nice, too!

How: I guess the BEST way to start the “How” part of this is to mention that God/Yahweh (Yahweh being Hebrew & meaning LORD capitalized) placed this stunning display before everyone’s eyes! I am Christian, so I tend to have no problem with mentioning God in my posts at times. I marvel at His creations. All creation has order. Even genetics has coding (as I often remember when thinking about God and Creationism)! A non-thinking, chaotic & rather sloppy “big bang” can not create order & can not create complexities like coding, but a THINKER and DESIGNER (in this case the Highest Thinker and Designer in existence being God) CAN produce ORDER & CAN create complexities like CODING. For those who haven’t thought about this, please think about it… To continue, the next part to how I snapped this photo is the type of camera I used. I used an Aiptek DV-S ISDV32B MP4 Digital Camcorder. The Aiptek was a gift and is my second digital camera. My first ever digital camera was a really cheap one that I bought from Family Dollar. It was not quality at all, had an LCD display screen the size of a fingernail and the pixelation was SEVERELY lacking, so I did not use it, really. Hey, I didn’t have cash weighing my pockets down at the time to buy one of the better cameras at that store and I really wanted a digital camera, so I bought it!

Anyway, the Aiptek is my second digital camera and it also is a camcorder & has mp4 ability. I didn’t use the mp4 much. So, anyway, I am going to continue explaining the “how”. I was sitting on the balcony outside of our room and we looked and noticed the storm cloud. We saw that as a great nature photo opportunity! I got up off the deck chair, ran to get my camera, was back out on the deck and after adjusting the settings, I snapped a couple of images. I tried to get the most awesome perspective possible. Shooting fine photos is more than just point & shoot since there is a big difference between a just a regular, basic photo and a photo that stimulates emotion and is visually exciting. A great fine photograph takes a great subject, a good to great camera, good timing, a good eye for angles & space and the ability to use the tints and tones that are naturally available to your advantage. I did not use a flash since, thanks to the strong sunlight enveloping much of the clouds, the flash was not needed. The F stop: f/1.4 and the Exposure time: 1/7812 seconds.

Note: For a somewhat lesser known camera, the Aiptek surprisingly shot awesome images. Clear and rich. This camera stuck with me through a bad drop on this trip (the battery cover actually broke off!), many more photos and also another cruise (Royal Caribbean’s Oasis of the Seas in Fall of 2010). Unfortunately, it seems to not be working right now. I guess that fall it took and all the use took its toll.  : (  But I still hope I can get it working, so I kept it. For my birthday, in Winter of 2010, one of my gifts was a new (and third) digital camera, my GE X500 Power Pro Series Bridge CameraThis camera is a few steps up in pixelation, color and setting options and is an excellent camera. I still use it and, THANK GOD, I have not dropped it, yet! I use this camera to shoot all of my images since Winter of 2010. I want to get more into photography and so I need to buy lenses and filters for it; I’m trying to be more serious about the beauty of photography. I am also working on compiling a digital photography portfolio so that I can apply for some photographer positions (including travel photographer positions).

And as an extra, below is an image that one of my friend’s shot of me drawing this same cloud. After I photographed it, I sat down with charcoal sticks to draw it (I still have to finish it, though; I stopped to go explore the ship…distractions!).

Drawing Caribbean Storm Cloud with charcoal sticks. 2009.

Drawing Caribbean Storm Cloud with charcoal sticks. 2009.

And as an extra, extra, here is are two posts I published about one of my more recent fine photographs: CLICK HERE and CLICK HERE!

I hope that you enjoyed this post and feel free to comment! Also feel free to return to my blog and read this, older & future posts! Thanks!

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

