WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 3


“burst”. Charcoal on paper. 2007.

Another in a series of analyses on my art.

Feel free to comment with questions you may still have.

“burst”, 2007

WHAT: One of my favorite works! Well…it’s not a dude, so it is obviously a woman! A young woman in profile, noone in particular. Not a bad-looking lady, huh? And I’m not even into girls and I can say that!! Only beef for me…

WHY: I have a great affinity for rendering faces, especially profiles and quarter views-that’s when one side of the face is fully visible while the other side is partially visible. And I felt I could do something very interesting with a profile by including something extra…so I threw in the radiating (love that word…it’s so………radiant) lines, hence the title. Like a burst of light, if you can use your imagination & translate charcoal lines into glorious rays of light. Then you have a good head on your shoulders! But this would be called “representation”-using those lines to represent rays of light.

WHEN: I created this in the year of the pig or boar-2007. What a lovely animal………

HOW: I meditated over this piece. I knew I wanted it to become one of the most delightful and visually harmonious artworks I’d ever done. I caressed my charcoal pencils and spoke to them in a light whisper, telling them what work must commence and to guide me. HELL NO! I didn’t do all that…that would be weird. I had to break in so that you readers will not think I am psycho and send me to a Jonas Brothers WITH Justin Bieber concert as punishment. How I REALLY created this piece was, yes, with charcoal and with great technical care. Tonal work and tricks fascinate me & that is what I utilized, here. Darkened tones alongside tints produce very dramatic effects! Chiaroscuro is like a delicacy that artists use. Yum.

Chiaroscuro (English pronunciation: /kiˌɑrəˈskjʊər/, Italian: [kjarosˈkuːro] “light-dark”) in art is characterized by strong contrasts between light and dark, usually bold contrasts affecting a whole composition. It is also a technical term used by artists and art historians for using contrasts of light to achieve a sense of volume in modelling three-dimensional objects such as the human body. (wikipedia.com)

The last visual I added were the rays. Meat before potatos is my method; major areas before the minor parts, the main before the filler, Anthony Bourdain before I watch that Andrew Zimmern guy (gaaaaack…he eats alot of cojones).

That was, as usual, alot of fun to explain! Hope you had fun reading. Come back for another analysis installment in a few days! In the meantime, read any of my other posts and also the pages, here. THANKS!

View more art: http://paintingsilove.com/artist/caloniejohnson  Thanks!

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

