AWWW, HELL: my heart broke when my laptop did


I had alot in common with this guy’s face…

Finally, another post! Yeah! But it’s also a sad one. Boo hoo. I will just keep it laced with humor to keep from sobbing my eyes out. Again.

In my last post (“WhatWhenWhyHow: Artwork Analysis 4”), I mentioned I would do a post on the tragedy that befell my laptop. Here goes: IT WAS THROWN ON THE FLOOR AND THE SCREEN CRACKED!!!! Thrown, you ask? Not dropped? No…thrown. In a fit of your own rage because you hated it updating again, you ask? No…I don’t mind the updates, they keep my laptop runnin well. No…it was THROWN by someone else.

DAAAAMNIIIIIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! @%##**@##%&$$%%!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I rely on my laptop to create digital art on (right now, about 2 projects are on hold because of this and the clients are trying to be patient), upload pics, create documents…play my downloaded music and HP games. *SWOON*

That guy in the pic above, we have one BIG thing in common. No, I’m not White. No, I’m not a dude. No, I don’t have hairy hands. We have that facial expression in common! That eruption of sudden, unequivocable RAGE!

As they say: “see, what had happened waaaas”…I got in a big disagreement with someone I know very well (not naming names, I’m mad, but not childish) & they became pissed at something I said, my laptop became a target & SMASH-O! Laptop on the floor. AAAAAAHHHHHHGGGGHHH!!!! ……. sorry, reliving this nightmare. My laptop was dumped onto a wood floor, landing on it’s classy, black lid. Or was it the bottom it landed on? Can’t remember as all my brain cells that help me to think just fritzed on me-blurring my mental workings. I just remember staring at it for a few quick seconds, walking toward it to turn it over, saw the battery had clicked out of it’s place and lay on the floor, too. At that point, I wanted to do this:

Can I borrow your sword? I have someone to slay.

Again, I’m not White or a guy, but we did have that seething anger issue in common. If only a sharp sword appeared outta the blue…I’d also be in jail.

Anyway, my laptop. My techno jewel that I spent $$$ on. Yes, that many $s. My HP Pavilion Entertainment darling! Keep in mind, I do not value material things to the point of loving them, but I do like my laptop alot. And I did think it was really childish and stupid for this person to trash something they DID NOT BUY, WILL NOT REPLACE because of anger. Selfish.

Later, this person actually offered to get it repaired & stupidly added, “I’m not saying that because I feel bad.” Wow. You are really EXTRA childish to even add that. Why’d you even offer?? Anyway, I told this person that I already gave it to someone (my boyfriend to the rescue) to get repaired. INYOFACE! Thankfuly, only the screen was screwed – cracked badly with it’s black inky stuff (its blood!!!!) pooling behind the ruined LCD like electronic death. I tested the system, holding my breath, to make sure all else was fine. Images are weird & enlarged because of it going into Safe Mode, but actually seemed to run faster (huh???) and my files are all safe. That is only God! for my system to still be running and running well. It’s also Divine intervention that the thing turned on in the FIRST place! I really do believe the good Lord had in mind all the work I need my laptop for and the fact that I can’t afford another one anytime soon, so He made sure the only issue was a broken screen that can be fixed. Ordering a replacement screen & it’s going to be taken to someone to repair. God is good!

So, since that retarded incident, I have not been WordPressing, Adobe-ing or other things much. I get to a computer when I can. Library, cellphone (whatever I can do on it that my mobile can allow, anyway…Wordpress not one of those things) and, in fact, I am typing this up on my boyfriend’s laptop. What a guy! He’s awesome! (random update-2013: single now, but still friends at least…lol)

I am no longer bhut jolokia pepper (it’s 401.5 times hotter than Tobasco sauce) mad. I am now jalapeno pepper mad. Still mad to the point of the memory making me want to wretch, but not so mad that I don’t think it’ll be better because it will. I just have to wait. I am hoping that my laptop’s system will last some more years (maybe even the average 10 years a laptop can last) after that jolt it got. Meanwhile, I will just save up for a new one because I will need one one day. Until then, I will look forward to many more days of projects, journaling & HP games on my laptop…soon…

Do you have any laptop/desktop horror stories? Feel free to share in a comment…

UPDATE (3/30/2013): I posted this on July 20, 2011. As of Mar. 30, 2013, my laptop has been…what?…huh??…NO FRIGGIN WAY…REPAIRED!!!!!!! Hallelujah and praise God until eternity!! Only thing left is to pick it up from the shop. I think I will give that guy a tip. I think I will give him a tip because: it’s been almost TWO years since this happened, I have borrowed two laptops since then, I have come up with the money to fix it ONLY to have to use that money to pay bills or whatever when stuff came up, I have had projects to do that require Photoshop and couldn’t because the laptops I borrow may explode with that amount of bytes (my laptop can handle the program and file sizes better), I have moved to another state during this (I moved for work & a change of locale; the fact that this issue has carried on into another location says something…), I brought the laptop to one guy and he said he couldn’t fix my screen because he could see someone (a friend of mine) had tried to fix it so he couldn’t tell what broke behind the screen during the fall and what broke during the make-shift attempt to fix it (but he did tell me the drive is fine, thank God the system and my files are safe), I wouldn’t give up (it was either find someone who could repair the screen for under $300 or buy a used version which would cost me $300-$500!), I believe God led me to someone who had the guts to take it on and now it is fixed!! I just have to go pick it up and see how it runs! Yes, after ALL that stress and aggravation, this man earned my firstborn child and a tip!! (well….scratch that firstborn child thing, but tip definitely is okay!)

UPDATE (4/6/2013): I went to the repair shop yesterday to pay something toward the pick-up fee (it’s a very reasonable fee, it’s just that I have other priorities and so I am going to pay twice more and then pick it up!). They showed me the newly fitted, glossy screen (just like the original) and it looks friggin awesome! They observed and smiled at how excited I was and I said I would do a cartwheel if that didn’t mean knocking down other equipment, devices they had in the area! The owner offered to move the stuff for me to do the cartwheel, hehe… I said I’d think about it, hehe… They did a fantastic job and I am so glad God led me to these guys. Woohoo!! Even though what happened was done intentionally by someone taking their anger too far, I am still not keen on letting anyone borrow my laptop ANYMORE. If someone wants to, I will have to watch them as they carry it and be in the same room as they use it! Paranoid?? NOPE! What if someone drops it by accident next time? Plus I am just too cautious and too-like-to-have-money-in-my-pocket to deal with such a drawn out headache, again. Boo!

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

