WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 5


3 Paths. Oil. 2010.

Another in a series of analyses on my art.

Feel free to comment with questions you may still have.

3 Paths

WHAT: Looks like a cluster of well placed strokes done in a painting frenzy, huh? Or maybe some of you are thinking, “That is the COOLest letter “A” I have ever seen!” I’ll give it some more credit than that, though. Abstract art and simplified art are more complex than what I used to give it credit for. Me, of the devotion to realism, naturalism styles and Renaissance period. Even painting with the more freeing, loose style of the most simple (because there ARE, visually-speaking, more complicated examples of it out there) abstract art that consist of strokes, quick lines or big gong-size circles or squares on canvas…there still is a “method to the madness” (as my painting instructor, Dr. H. I’ll call him, used to say). Even when the work appears to be something that took as much mental effort as it takes to pick your nose, it is more complex than that! Much more. Even the most simple work came with a method and a lot of thinking. The title, “3 Paths”, refers to a visual secret in the paintng itself, a secret that is so obvious you can see it, really.

Here is a theoretical look at what abstract art is:

Abstract art uses a visual language of form, color and line to create a composition which may exist with a degree of independence from visual references in the world. Western art had been, from the Renaissance up to the middle of the 19th century, underpinned by the logic of perspective and an attempt to reproduce an illusion of visible reality. The arts of cultures other than the European had become accessible and showed alternative ways of describing visual experience to the artist. By the end of the 19th century many artists felt a need to create a new kind of art which would encompass the fundamental changes taking place in technology, science and philosophy. The sources from which individual artists drew their theoretical arguments were diverse, and reflected the social and intellectual preoccupations in all areas of Western culture at that time.

Abstract art, nonfigurative art, nonobjective art, and nonrepresentational art are loosely related terms. They are similar, although perhaps not of identical meaning. – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abstract_art

WHY: I’d been on an art binge! I was drawing and Photoshoping and photographing all over the place…painting was next! I was on creative overdrive at the time…pencils, brushes, charcoals, paint, files flinging everywhere! Art glutton, outta control! It was goodtimes. That’s one reason why I created this piece; it was another creative outlet. Another reason was work I saw by an abstract artist named Qin Feng (check out a link to his site under “Artists” on the sidebar). WOW! I mean, this man is dynamic with the seemingly most serene techniques! If I was gonna get more into abstract art, this was the way to be inspired-visually aggressive, harmonious, beautiful art. Less time-consuming than subjective art, NON-subjective art is so freeing! Like wind in your brush! Kinda…

WHEN: This was done in 2010.

HOW: This was produced with blood (the red ground) and tar (the black strokes). …….. .. … …….I was waiting for you to believe that. You probably did, seeing as how I’m an artist and the fact that artists like to try all sorts of media for expression. So, noooo, it’s not blood and tar, its just simple old, expensive oil paint. Blood would freak people out & make me seem psychotic! Tar would be awesome……..I would try that. So, anyway, it’s OIL paint. I love oil paint. So rich and full of depth! Like 3D with a pigment, oil and a brush! As to how else this was done, I just let my hand go. Seriously! I wasn’t trying to think beyond what I wanted to convey & composition (placement). Beyond that, I did not think because thinking too much would have made it too studied and stiff. I just told my brain, “SHUT UP!” and let my hand have a mind of its own as my brain sulked in the corner.

Thank you for reading my NEW POST!  Come back because there will definitely be more!

view more art at: http://paintingsilove.com/artist/caloniejohnson THANKS!

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

