THE BIG CHANCE & SMALL JITTERS: my job interview


Yes, as the title says, I have an interview…TODAY! In just a few hours…

It’s not just ANY old interview for a job, it’s an interview within marketing. An interview that will require me to show some of my graphic design and art works in a portfolio. I have waited a loooooooooooong time to get a chance like this. To work in a job that is actually my field instead of “other” in order to have money in my pockets. Not to mention positions like this make more Mr. Green!

The closest I’ve ever come to utilizing my degree (a Bachelor’s in Studio Art, cum laude) was a job directing activities (which included crafts) for seniors, tutoring art at a library I worked at and, of course, creating and selling art in the side for patrons since second year of high school. My art on the side business has helped me stay connected to art so that I don’t lose touch AND so I don’t lose my friggin mind living in an ultra small, barely gettin by town where people are more interested in paying their bills, food (both understandable), buying clothes, detailing their cars and nails AND hair than in buying art (these 3 more trivial)…unless they can get it for near free. Which does not help ME a whole lot. I’m thankful for the business I have gotten over time and other connections with out-of-towners, but I know I have to move on and have a real CAREER.

So, I had some enlightenment, recently. I won’t go into detail, but the emotional and mental epiphany told me I needed to step up my job search! Or live a life, in one area (career), being miserable and regretful. So out of a huge cavalcade of jobs I applied to online using TWO methods (jobsearch sites like Careerbuilder & Simplyhired, for ex. & a more direct, phone-calling approach which seemed to get more responses than the jobsearch sites), I got two postive responses. One was a design agency that pays you through the clients you acquire and design stuff for (the agency prints the work, you get paid…I can still do that one, too) and the other was this opportunity.

So, now, with a portfolio at the ready, I am ready to see how this turns out. I don’t know what’ll happen. Maybe I will get the job, maybe I won’t, but I can thank God and be proud I got this close & not give up. If I GET the job, it will be a fresh and prayerfuly happier start!

HOPE (not “luck” because that is only chance) me the best! Thanks!!

(psssst…If you are in the design business or you have a company you need design work for, a logo for ex., contact me: calonie.ct@gmail.com!)

My artwork: http://paintingsilove.com/artist/caloniejohnson

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

