WHAT IF THEY REALLY SAID THAT?!?: Dialogue Fun with Art…i was bored


Okay, as a serious visual artist, I have the UTMOST  respect for the complexities, beauty, history, teachings of art. But just so I can lighten up, I poke fun at it sometimes. Just being human and my ole goofy self. Have you ever wondered what the subjects within a piece of art could really be conveying? What if the dialogue (or monologue for one subject…….is there trialogue and multilogue????) was totally NOT what they were thinking or saying, but it would be funny if that were the case? Below, I offer my ideas. Have fun!!

Laocoon by Agesander, Athenodoros & Polydoros. 25 BC.

Laocoon’s son (both are his, but the one at right): Dad, why’d you have to go and piss Athena off? The Trojan horse did NOT have to be set on fire to convince ANYbodyof ANYthing!! This SUCKS!

Laocoon: This really does suck!

Son at left: Ow.

The Scream by Edvard Munch. 1893. NOTE: Did you know that there is more than one by this Norwegian artist? This is one of a series of paintings and prints. In Norwegian, Scream is “Skrik”.

(The Scream has been stolen more than once.)

Guy: Would people PLEASE stop friggin STEALING me???? AAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!!

Young Man Among Roses by Nicholas Hilliard. 1588.

Dapper dandy (probably the Earl of Essex): Ladies!! Ladieees (in a sexier tone)…don’t my tights just turn you on? Let’s get wanton.”

Guiseppe Baretti by Joshua Reynolds. 1773. Note: Baretti was an Italian-born English literary critic and author of two influential language-translation dictionaries. (info courtesy of Wikipedia)

Baretti: Oh dear……..glasses. They’ve been around for quite some time, now. I really must get used to this concept of remembering they exist. My eyes are kill-ing me. Wretch.

The Birth of Venus (La nascita di Venere) by Sandro Botticelli. 1486.

The guy blowing: Look, she’s pretty and all, but it’s not worth all THIS! Her on that shell are heavy as HELL! I might be a demi-god or whatever, but I don’t have the lungs for this crap!

Venus: This is a weird way to be born…but hey…I get all this supernatural first class service! Being a myth is awesome.

Well, those are my humorous musings for now. I may do another, later. Or add to this one! I hope you liked it! I hope any die-hard serious art-types don’t punch me for visual arts blasphemy… 

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

2 thoughts on “WHAT IF THEY REALLY SAID THAT?!?: Dialogue Fun with Art…i was bored

  1. I may’ve been wrong & the images never went anywhere…but if they did I will resolve it soon. Thank you (extremely grateful blogger here) for the “Likes” and keep reading my blog. Heck…invite others to read. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Sorry if you see no images along with the text. I was editing from my cell and when I clicked OK and got sent back to the screen ALL the images had been wiped out. So I have to wait until I can use my laptop to restore said images…
    Needless to say…I will never edit from my phone again.

    Like

Comments are closed.