WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 7


"GO!!GO!!GO!!!!" Graphic art. 2011.

Another in a series of analyses on my art. This one’s faaast. ZOOOOM…

Feel free to comment with questions you may still have.

GO!!GO!!GO!!!!

What:  This is an artistic rendering of road rage, but mainly a visual translation of alacrity, rapidity, swiftness, swiftness – SPEED! I could’ve just said speed, but I wanted to do a little word mess-around and make some readers think, “This girl is silly, ridiculous, juvenile & asinine.” That last one is a bit harsh. Anyhow, the MAIN point of this piece of art is speed & the fast life of the city conveyed through a graphic work. The undertone is road rage. Too bad REAL road rage isn’t as fun as it looks in this work. In REAL life, road rage is alot uglier with yelling, middle fingers and curse words, profanity, vulgarity, blasphemy…let me quit before I get some 3- & 4-letter comments from folks.

Why: I was basically bored. You may not know it, unless you are an artist, but BOREdom can often be a producer of some of the most creative stuff. Probably because stuff just starts to flow out of our heads and we don’t even care what it is, as long as it’s something. So I was bored. I was also VERY influenced by the artworks we see in ads, lately. You know the kind. An object (a cell phone, for example) will be accompanied by all these trippy, super-mod visual effects like elliptical circles, beautiful floral work and
stars bursting around it. These days, ads make you feel as if you got punched in the eyes with colors, shapes and digital everything, but it is really fun to see. Like bedazzled, eye candy. Like graffiti without the actual graffiti. So, inspiration: boredom and extremely trippy  art.

When: This was completed in an obvious artist-freak-out frenzy this year. Nah…I didn’t freak out, but I did Photoshop for 4 hours, staying up until 4am working on this. If an artist’s computer could speak, it would say, “Go to BED!! I am overheated and pissed, you masking, copy/pasting, filtering, layering wretch.”

How: How I created this piece? With the use of my overheating laptop (borrowed from my boyfriend…if you read one of my earlier posts, you will be reading about how MY laptop was desecrated *sniff* & yet to be fixed). When high CPU – usage programs like Adobe programs are used, they can really heat up a laptop, so that soon it feels like hellfire is breathing from it…that’s why a cooling pad is a great invention, contraption, gadget, device………..okay…

view more art at: http://paintingsilove.com/artist/caloniejohnson THANKS!

