A MULTI-TASKING GALLERY: a day at City Art Gallery


When I lived in South Carolina (I moved to FL, this month!), I made an effort to visit this very chill and awesome gallery in Columbia, SC. I call this a multi-tasking gallery because it is 3 things rolled into one: exhibit/gallery space, a place to buy art and a place to buy art supplies. There are even 3 levels: the basement has a MEGA shipload full of art supplies, 1st floor is an exhibit area featuring  current shows and the 2nd floor is an exhibit area for local artists. Classes and discussions/events on art also take place, here. It’s a vibrant scene. Stopping here is always a treat and I hope I can visit again! Here, I have some highlights of my last visit which took place in April.

(Note: The smaller photos were taken with my cell-yes, I doubled up using that & my digital camera-hence their much lighter coloring-I did not adjust the settings, 1st.  Also, I like to credit artworks by other artists, but the labels I photographed featuring the artists’ names turned out blurry…so I hope I don’t get in trouble!!)

City Art Gallery in Columbia, SC (this photo is from kathycaseyart.net)

  • This is the front of the building, but the way into the lot makes it look like it is the side. and it is in the same area as restaurants, other art venues and interesting little shops. On this visit, I forgot that there is free parking in their lot and, instead, parked in an area you gotta pay to park. Once I had my duh moment, I re-parked in this lot. Saved me some quarters because I stayed longer!

This is the 1st floor of the gallery. There is a wide space for exhibit space and classes, discussions.

  • As the caption states, this is one view of the 2nd floor. It’s a gorgeous scene and I love the strings of lights, classy piano, gritty brick walls and the natural wood floor and other wood touches. It is about as artful as the actual works featured. This particular floor houses current exhibitons. the exhibit that was up during this period included neat, quirky photography. I strolled around them for quite a while!

Another view. I want a piano! (As mentioned above, this and some others were taken with my mobile, hence the size.)

  • I wonder if I would have played the piano would I have gotten kicked out?……………………………?

A series of photographs depicting night scenes! Makes me want to go out! Lights! Bars! Night time! *sigh*

  • I love the vast perspective in these images and the coloring.

Really?? This was too fun! Photography depicting people sleeping in various places and spaces.

Feel sleepy looking at these people sleeping, aren’t ya?

A triptych of a skyscape. I stared at this for quite some time…

This is really neat, the freeing imagery and the arrange,ment work well together.

This is another room off the 2nd floor space. I felt this was a ragingly perfect photo opp! Reminds me off the Three Graces…

Neat!

Made it to the 2nd floor gallery space which featuresmany local artists. This series of lowcountry scenes are peaceful and light!

A piece by famed artist & SC native Tarleton Blackwell depicts Uncle Sam in the midst of social concern. Read more about Blackwell in the link at the end of this post!

  • When I was in college, Tarleton Blackwell was one of the names our professors mentioned and I took my 1st trip to City Art with my a college art class. I fell in love with the place that day and I saw Blackwell’s work for the first time that day, as well. His work speaks very much on society, racism and politics. His work goads you into thinking and introspection…and into remembering reality.

I really took to the bold industrial paintings of this artist, Joseph Byrne. The details and colors are vivid! Read more about Byrne in the link at the end of this post!

Another dynamic piece by Byrne…

A cavalcade of very unique works by different artists…

  • I trolled this section for quite a long time taking in so much and taking alot of photos!!

 

Like the Great Wall of Charcoal Stuff! *drooooooool*

  • I made it to the basement. I intentionally saved that for last! City Art has more art supply goodies than you can throw a brick at!….I know, that makes no sense. I didn’t know what else to say!! When I was here on that visit, I bought a drawing pad, a compressed sanguine (reddish clay color) charcoal stick, a black charcoal stick and a couple other things. But I think HALF that store would be dry if I coulda gotten all the things I REALLY wanted! But I was glad for what I did get because I needed them!

Paintbrushes and other painting supplies. What I would like to do is position my arm on every shelf in this ENTIRE basement and run my arm down them, knocking every supply in sight down in one fell sweep…right into a HUGE bag. That is what I would like to do.

Canvas. *weep*

And that is IT!! I had a lovely visit and soaked it all into my mind, but I’m glad the post is done. PHEW!! I had to deal with some glitches, but it’s completed. I really hope you enjoyed reading and viewing the photos and there are links below for more info on City Art, Tarleton Blackwell and Joe Byrne!

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

