WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 5 (a second look)


  • NOTE: When I was going through my posts, I saw that I had already done an art analysis on this piece!! Go see “Artwork Analyses 5”...that one! Being somewhat of a perfectionist, I became somewhat perturbed and annoyed. Silently so. My roommate even noticed a change in my temperament from cheerful to meh. But then I got over it because stuff like blogging mistakes are not the end of the world or the worst thing in the world. I next figured out what to do & have decided to make this a two-part study (hence me titling this one ‘a second look’. I could have kept it as “Artwork Analyses 10”, but I want #10 to be a completely new work. I have a thing for order, sue me! So , anyway, this is basically the SAME work with a fresh perspective. End of note!

 

Another in a series of analyses on my art. This one’s an abstract one! I am mainly a realism and naturalism artist, but abstract art is growing on me. In my head, Picasso and Mondrian are becoming friends with daVinci and Ingres (two of my big BIG art idols)! Man, imagine if they were really friends? Those would be some awesome chill sessions.

Feel free to comment with questions you may still have.

3 Paths, Oil paint on canvas, 2010.

3 Paths

What:  This is an example of my accumulating interest in abstract art. There are many ways to approach abstract art. It can be blocks. It can be splatters (technically called action art), it can be minimalist strokes… Abstract art is freeing and I guess you could say the liberal side of art. Yet it still adheres to the elements and principles used in every other visual art style. What else this is is also my mind going off on a whimsical tangent; creating while thinking, but not thinking too hard…like The Kardashians. Whoa. Let me take that back. I thought more than that while painting this. I don’t let my brain slip that much! Theirs is a whole other level of cerebral decay…

The other What is within the title itself. 3 Paths. It has to do with the configuration of the strokes. It is not the letter A, by the way!!

Why: I created this painting because I am becoming more appreciative of the simple and yet, complex, beauty and pleasant oddity of abstract art. I wanted to break away from being so detailed and careful with my technique and skills. There are, as I said, so many ways to approach an abstract idea. It is very exciting to work out and watch it form. It can be very unnerving, too, because there are less restrictions it can be easy to slip up and not get the result you want…because despite how free-ing or simplistic (at times) it is, even abstract art is being worked out to result in an appearance pleasing to the artist. Another Why is a need to expand techniques, styles and to progress is something that is natural for most artists to want to do.

Another Why is that I was inspired by the artist Qin Feng, a Chinese-born artist. I was trolling the ‘net (I am a website freak…I have bookmarked tons of sites from art to food to humor to history and more) and came across this wonderful, sublime artist and his dynamic art. His form of abstract really appeals to me for this reason: it is abstract with a mix of classic and bold. The lovely lines of his work are reminiscent of the care daVinci or Ingres put into the contours of their subjects. Just powerful stuff! It really speaks! To me, he is like a graffiti artist eating caviarthat bold and sophisticated at once! There are links at the end of this post about this artist and his work.

When: I painted this two years ago. I wanted this to be part of a triptych (triptychs are basically a series of 3 works alongside each other working or relating as one artwork; there are also diptychs-2 works in a series-wonder if there are quadtychs or cinctychs…okay, I’m being ridiculous now!),but I stalled. But this month I am picking the idea up, again, and have been working on my 2nd painting in the series. You can see it in my post: “HMMMM…WHAT WILL THIS BE 2: after a faulty start, i have figured it out”

How: Did this with broad and repeated strokes of oil paint, going wayward here and there, for a lose and at once boldly defined effect! My, what a way with words. I feel like I’m writing a novel!  I also did this with a hand more accustomed to realism and naturalism, accustomed to controlled and careful and very detailed work and not abstract. I’m more Renaissance than Rauschenberg. I’ve done abstract before; simplification before, but only within classroom situations in high school and college. I knew abstract is an art style and respected the artists (old and new) of the movement, but I did not have the appreciation that I had for realists, naturalists; old and new. But I am growing in that appreciation, so I guess I also created this piece-not only with oil paint and brushes-but also with an open mind and appreciation for the dynamics of abstract art.

Final note: When I was finished with the piece, I was actually sad that I was done because it was so much fun to do! It turned out nicely, to me. What do you think? All black solid paths and wisps against a bed of deep crimson. To me, this painting ended up having a decidedly Asian look to it, which is great as I love Asian art and influences. Makes me think of the long, deep black wispy hair that those scary ghosts have in movies like The Grudge. Except my painting is much less frightening, doesn’t make those creepy throat sounds and won’t have me running out of my house!

Thanks for reading this post and please do view my other posts and also pages in this blog! My next post will be the 11th art analysis and it is a long time coming and will be on a piece of art that was featured in these posts: “BACK TO BASICS: drawing in progress 2” and “BACK TO BASICS: drawing in progress 1”. I finally finished the piece a few months back. Below is a detail of the artwork (I will post full image and more in the next art analysis!!):

DETAIL. This is a sneak peek of Art Analysis 11!

View more art at: http://paintingsilove.com/artist/caloniejohnson THANKS!

Definition of abstract art: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abstract_art

Qin Feng (artist that I am a new fan of!): http://qinfeng-art.com/ and http://www.artnet.com/artists/qin%20feng/

