WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 11


3 Paths. Oil on canvas. 2010.

3 Paths. Oil on canvas. 2010.

3 Paths II. Oil on canvas. 2012.

3 Paths II. Oil on canvas. 2012.

3 Paths III. Oil on canvas. 2012.

3 Paths III. Oil on canvas. 2012.

Another in a series of analyses on my art. This one’s late! I’ve done separate posts before on  two of the pieces individually (just click or search the tags ‘oil paint’ or ‘paintings’ and you will see all those posts). Most of the posts have just been to do with my progress, but not on all three together as completed works.

Feel free to comment with questions you may still have.

3 Paths, 3 Paths II and 3 Paths III

WHAT:  These works are oil on canvas pieces and are inspired by the fantastically bold art of Qin Feng. There are a couple links to his work below. They are conceptual (art whose ideas are more important than the traditional aesthetic & material concerns). They are non-objectional abstract (more on that in the next paragraph). All three pieces together form a triptych. Nah, I didn’t make that word up…it’s a real word! Triptych:  (pron.: /ˈtrɪptɪk/TRIP-tik; (from the Greek adjective τρίπτυχοs (“three-fold”), from tri-= “three” + ptysso= “to fold”) is a work of art (usually a panel painting) which is divided into three sections, or three carved panels which are hinged together and can be folded shut or displayed open. It is therefore a type of polyptych, the term for all multi-panel works. The middle panel is typically the largest and it is flanked by two smaller related works, although there are triptychs of equal-sized panels. The form can also be used for pendant jewelry. – wikipedia

WHY: I wanted to step away from realism and naturalism for a while (realism and naturalism are two different styles of art, but with a similar focus-to capture what subjects really look like) and give a serious stab at what I before only dabbled with from time to time: complete abstract. Many people know that abstract is a very altered rendering of an object and abstract art can also be non-objective (just shapes, lines, form or shape othat are not of any object-people, things, places, etc.; my three pieces are examples of being non-objective and abstract). I highly admire Renaissance art as well. I wanted to try something less detailed and liberating as far as the process; something also, to be honest, that I could create quickly! My detailed artworks are like making a 10-course meal. And although the creation process involved much thought, these 3 paintings were like making a sandwich. So, a BIG difference as far as time. When I saw works by Qin Feng, all gorgeous and pow pow pow in your face, it got my mind going! POW! #ObnoxiousAlert

WHEN: I did these over a span of two years (after starting and stopping). The 1st one was done in 201o. II and III were done in 2012.

HOW: I will explain this pretty quickly so as to get to the point about 3 paintings. First, the ground is prepared. For each work, I wanted the ground colors to be visually appealing, but without being usual colors. The first has a deep red brick color, the 2nd has a loud yellow and the 3rd was to be a dark (with black) greenish color, but it appears mainly black.  The next step was to paint the wide strokes across each work. Expansively free lines was what I was going for. An Asian appearance (beauty of line, varied brush widths and directions and coloring to complement the each ground) was the aim as well. As far as the coloring of the strokes, I got stuck on the 2nd one. I didn’t know what color to use against the yellow ground. Then my roommate suggested that I create the pieces to all include the same colors so that they’d go together more. Great idea! It cut the indecisiveness. See? Besides wondering ‘what the heck is that?’ when they are looking at their artist roommate’s pieces, they can also give advice! My first piece was a BREEZE to do-inspiration was high. # II was indecisive-had to figure out the color scheme. # III was like the anti-art monsters just swallowed my brain and sucked out all of my creative thoughts! I even cursed that painting out…LITERALLY (you can read about it in this post: “FIRST TIME FOR EVERYTHING!: i cursed out my painting…badly” from October 2012). I changed it 50,000 times (well, almost), but it got done. Things worked out, though! I finished them all and, in fact, while I was painting the 3rd (hell-ish, lol) piece, someone wanted to buy all three paintings! Thank God! You can read about that, too (“UPDATE: wrapped up and sent off with a tear…i miss my paintings” from November 2012). The 3rd piece was mailed separately because one area would NOT dry. I think if a tornado blew over it, it wouldn’t’ve dried! I had to actually rub off some of the oil paint layers. It dried quickly after that. I coulda beat myself with a jumbo sable paintbrush for not getting that earlier. Meh…

I am glad that I could finally post this article. Talk about STALLIN’. But I did it and I hope you enjoyed reading and learning about these works! // SHAMELESS PLUG TIME!!: If you are interested in any works as far as questions and as far as purchases, email me: calonie.ct@gmail.com. Thanks!

View more art at: http://paintingsilove.com/artist/caloniejohnson THANKS! // UPDATE: I just completed a new piece, today. Back on my drawing game after taking a long break due to work, involvements and just plain hiatus. I will post it, soon. I want to next create more religious-based artworks (do not have enough of those and they’re important), Assassin’s Creed fan art (but something gritty and naturalistic…no corny stuff) and fairy tale-based art (but not sappy). I also want to work on a book of my art. A long thought of project that is overdue!

Qin Feng sites:

Official artist site- Click Here

Qin Feng on Artnet- Click Here

