MANGA MANIA: manga may take over my drawing pad from time to time!


animehappy preliminary  (2) - Copy - Copy - Copy

“mangahappy” (pending title), graphite on paper, 2013.

MANGA!!!!   漫画 !

I sound just as hyper as manga characters usually appear, huh? You can probably picture vocal lines coming out of my mouth or stars exploding from my head as I say that, huh?! Now I really DO sound hyper…

There are actually a variety of stylistic approaches to manga and the word “manga” refers to comics and cartoons (as an extra note: while manga is printed, anime is the Japanese version of animation). Now the story of how this drawing came about below:

I’ve tried my hand at manga and elements from manga before (I will feature images of those soon, along with this one, in another post about my foray into manga), but a couple nights ago I developed a renewed spark for creating it. I was reading an art book about the art of Persona 3 FES (if you are a gamer or into anime, you know what Persona is). The art is extraordinary and the costuming the artists create are daring and full of the creativity and imagination I love! So, with this refreshed inspiration, I started drawing at 12 or 1am into 5am…I had so much fun with this and, of course, it still isn’t finished. I have to finish her face, hair, create a background and may add some color. This is also a partial image, it is not the full-length image.

This is a happy gal and I wanted to further that by drawing clouds on her top or blouse (aren’t those two words confusing?…top or blouse…meh). You can see one a little bit of one of the puffy clouds. In Chinese culture, clouds represent happiness. I also realized the clouds also relate to the wings I drew spanning from her top…..or blouse. And interesting fact: “mangaka (漫画家) is the Japanese word for a comic artist or cartoonist and mangaka refers to the author of the manga, who is usually Japanese.” (from wikipedia.com).

Update: I started adding color!

What do you think of this, so far? I will post the final image when I am done! 

I finally did finish the drawing in 2014 and just published a post about it on November 3, 2016. You can read it HERE!!!! Thanks!!

  • A little bit about manga from wikipedia.com: CLICK
  • And some more manga art: CLICK

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

P.S. I now have 54 Followers, so thank you to all my Followers and also thanks to everyone who reads my blog!

