WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 6


Here’s a re-blog of one of my Artwork Analysis posts.

caloniedoesart

Another in a series of analyses on my art. This one is that requisite artist’s show of silent narcissism…the self-portrait.

Feel free to comment with questions you may still have.

grimy self portrait

WHAT: It’s me. Really, that is all I need to say, here. It’s me in one of those artist silently and serenely posing in order to render a silent and serene portrait. It’s me looking all artist-like. But I actually AM an artist…not like one. AND that’s me. Up there. In that square…I mean, rectangle. I did that. That’s me.

WHY: Why? Why do artists create artworks featuring themselves? That would be a good way to put it, too. Lots of artists create self-portraits to try their hand at drawing, painting, etc. themselves. Lots of artists render themselves to leave visual evidence of their artistic existance. Lots of artists create portraits of themselves because they figure if they can…

View original post 444 more words

