ETCH ABOUT A SKETCH: my sketches 4


Hi, all! Every now and again, I will post sketches I’ve done. Since they are my sketches and not my fine art pieces, they do not see a whole lot of light of day as they are holed up in a notebook, computer/laptop or flash drive. These are some examples of the bare bones of my art. Some are quick sketches, others look more complete. Please enjoy! Thanks!

Psycho Les Charcoal on paper. 2002.

Psycho Les
Charcoal on paper. 2002.

Really, this is not a sketch (since it is a finished piece), but it has a sketchy look. I like the hurried, frantic look of it. 

Remember The Beatnuts? Oldheads (like me…I am in my 30s) will remember. If you are a youngster who only listens to Bieber, Selena Gomez, Drake & so on, might not know The Beatnuts unless you appreciate any music done before 2005 or if you Google. The Beatnuts are a rap/hip hop duo from New York. They were quite big back in the day (1990s-2000s).

The two guys went by the names Psycho Les (Lester Fernandez) and JuJu (Jerry Tineo. Here is a quick drawing I did of Psycho Les. I was visiting family near Atlanta, during the Summer, when I did this. I was trying a new style technique that communicates nearly every detail into exaggerated line-work. Depending on how it is used, line can be very expressive and can communicate a lot of feeling.  

By the way, this post marks my 100th POST on WordPress (and that’s not counting my 16 published pages-pages are my minor publishings, here, while my posts are the main)! Cartwheels are in order!! But I will not attempt to really do cartwheels at home because I might break stuff. So, I will do cartwheels in my mind…  : )

Follow @SheDoesArtWow

