WHATWHYWHENHOW: Artwork Analysis 13


Here is a reblog of a post about one of my favorite works that I produced. Racial unity is the subject of this piece.

caloniedoesart

Survive, mixed media & a bird feather on mat board, 2004.Survive.
Mixed media & a bird feather on mat board, 2004.

“Survive”

What: There is quite a bit going on in this piece, so much so that I did not know how to start this post off! I sat for a while just looking at the screen & at the random things in the room and, I kid you not, I said: “Aaaaaahhhhhh!”Writer’s block is as bad as artist’s block. I would have screamed louder, but I have neighbors & they’d think I am nuts. Then again…………….they know I am an artist, so they would probably think I was being normal.  Anyway, this drawing features, as you can see, a grouping of hands with some religious & cultural objects and also some other elements. And a lot of lines and a lot of yellow!

What II: This work, as I said, is a religious piece (though, due to its…

View original post 1,582 more words

